Prizes, Distinctions and Honorary Tasks

The Björkén Prize

The Björkén Prize is alternately awarded in four different fields:

  1. Botany, zoology, and landscape planning
  2. Chemistry, mineralogy, metallurgy, and geology
  3. Physics, mechanics, and engineering science
  4. Theoretical disciplines of medical sciences

Read more about The Björkén Prize

The Disa Prize

The Disa Prize was founded by Uppsala University and Studentbokhandeln in Uppsala to further popular science writing and was awarded for the first time in 2001.

Read more about The Disa Prize

Excellent Teacher

Since the end of 2011 especially pedagogically merited teachers may apply for the title Excellent Teacher at the Uppsala University.

Read more about Excellent Teachers

Members of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has the mission to promote the sciences and strengthen their influence in society.

Read more about members of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences

The Oscar Prize

The Oscar Prize is a prize for young scientific talents and goes to someone whose scientific writing is the most deserving and offers the greatest promise of continued academic writings at the University.

Read more about the Oscar Prize

The Distinguished Teaching Award

Uppsala University confers annual awards for outstanding accomplishments in undergraduate education in accordance with special nomination categories.

Read more about the Distinguished Teaching Award

The Rudbeck Medal

The Rudbeck Medal is awarded “for extraordinarily prominent achievements in science, to be conferred primarily for such accomplishments or findings attained at Uppsala University”.

Read more about the Rudbeck Medal